Someone to Watch Over Me

As you can see, I haven’t updated my blog for the past week or so. I was in Los Angeles with my mother attending my UCLA Extension graduation.

After five long hard years I finally received my Certificate in Feature Film Writing in early June! I can’t tell you how excited I was to finally hold it in my hands! I’ve always wanted to go to UCLA – so I attended through online classes.

About 2,000 other students graduated with me Tuesday night. To put that in perspective, the University of Nevada (where I previously received two bachelors’ degrees) graduated that record amount this spring. This was only the CONTINUING EDUCATION portion of UCLA!

Many graduates received flower bouquets and gifts. One outside sign that caught my eye stated balloons ‘must be checked in’ before entering Royce Hall. Huh?

It was a really nice ceremony and I’m humbled and happy to have been part of it. The twitpic I posted to my Twitter account was even retweeted by the school!

I’m also happy my mother went with me. It was nice to know someone special was sitting in the crowd for me and that I was not alone.   

We didn’t visit many other places the other days, but the ones we did go to, I made sure were interesting: Book Soup, a hard-to-find & first-edition-signed bookstore, Canter’s Deli, the LA County Museum and Coffee Bean (since we don’t have one in Reno.)

Despite many surprises (some good some not) I think she enjoyed my tour. I’m not sure she wants to live there, but she did get to see a wide variety of life. The most stressful portion of our trip – by far – involved our GPS rental. I don’t know how we did it, but we still got to our planned destinations on time!

Leave a Reply

