Author of ‘The Cat Who’ Series Dies at 97


The author who wrote 29 books in the “The Cat Who …” mystery series has died at a hospice center inSouth Carolina.

Lilian Jackson Braun was 97.

Braun’s publisher said she died Saturday at the Hospice House of the Carolina Foothills in Landrum. She had lived inTryon,N.C., for the past 23 years with her husband, Earl Bettinger.

Braun wrote 31 books, including two short story collections, and worked 30 years at The Detroit Free Press until her retirement in 1984.

Her first book, “The Cat Who Could Read Backwards,” was published in 1966. Braun quickly then followed with two more, “The Cat Who Ate Danish Modern” (1967) and “The Cat Who Turned On and Off” (Dutton, 1968).

After her Free Press retirement, she resumed with “The Cat Who Saw Red,” which appeared in 1986.

She retired from writing in 2007 after the publication of “The Cat Who Had 60 Whiskers.”

In between were, she released titles like, “The Cat Who Played Brahms”; “… Knew Shakespeare”; “… Sniffed Glue”; “… Said Cheese”; and “… Smelled a Rat.”

The novels, which have sold millions of copies and been translated into 16 languages, appeared regularly on The New York Times’ best-seller list.

She was born June 20, 1913, inChicopee Falls, Massachusetts.

No memorial service will be held. 

(Associated Press, New York Times)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: