Lady Gaga Jump the Shark? Some Points to Consider

I consider Lady Gaga a musical genius – to the point where I’m jealous I’m not wildly talented with songwriting.

But then there’s the fashion aspect.

Why am I mentioning this? Because something significant happened this week when I watched a rerun of Fashion Police on E!

At one during the show, the panelists, Joan Rivers, Kelly Osborne, Guiliana Rancic and George Kotsiopoulos discussed Lady Gaga’s latest over-the-top outfit.

 

George then basically proclaimed she’s just using fashion for fashion’s sake. That there’s really nothing else going on besides that.

At that moment I had this actual thought ‘she’s jumped the shark.’

He continued on to say her new album ‘Born this Way’ is not all that great – so don’t be showing off thinking you’re best thing since sliced bread.

I then realized that, despite her relevance in today’s pop culture world, that maybe, yes, he’s right. She just wears crazy clothing now. And that’s it.

I do not own her new album (I do own ‘The Fame’), so I cannot say either way if her music is good or not this time around, but I can say her clothing seems to be the only relevant thing she ‘owns.’

Think about it. If her music did not sell, we’d still give her attention, all because of what she wears.

I could be totally wrong on this. And as cliché as it sounds, only time will tell, but when he made that statement, it just seemed to ring true with me.

What do you think?

(Picture – Oceanic Media Group/FilmMagic)

Leave a Reply

