Oscar Predictions for 2012

Yes, it’s only October, but I can already see some movies already being nominated for next year’s Oscars.

As you know I expand my brain when I can, so why try to predict Oscar winners months in advance – even before any Golden Globe nominations are announced in December.

I’ll list to make things easy – (plus I’m more of a visual person!)

Best Picture

Contagion

Ides of March

The Help

J. Edgar

Moneyball

The Descendants – added 11/12

Best Actor

George Clooney – The Descendants – changed from Ides of Mrach on 11/12

Matt Damon – Contagion

Leo DiCaprio – J. Edgar

Jean Dujardin – The Artist (added 11/28)

Best Director

Steven Soderburgh – Contagion

George Clooney – Ides of March

Clint Eastwood – J. Edgar

Best Actress

Glenn Close – Albert Hobbs

Viola Davis – The Help

Meryl Streep – The Iron Lady

Michelle Williams – My Week With Marilyn (added November 28 – I know this is a long shot, but I just have an irking feeling abour this.)

Best Supporting Actress

Marisa Tomei – Ides of March

Kate Winslet – Contagion

Best Screenplay

Ides of March – adapted

Contagion – adapted

The Help – adapted

Moneyball

Super 8

The Big Year – (Steve Martin may have a real chance)

Best Animated Feature

Cars 2

Puss in Boots

Happy Feet 2

And then I always like to add a wildcard category so why not – visual effects?

Visual Effects

Pirates of theCaribbean– On Stranger Tides

Transformers 3

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2

Now obviously these are only suggestions, but we’ll see what happens in the months to come. I may be correct and if I am, maybe next year, I’ll add this to my regular predictions.

Most of the movies considered for Oscar season have already been released, so there really won’t be any huge surprises coming up in the next three months.

And so far I have yet to hear anything about ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.’ I could be wrong, but if this thing is supposed to be so great, wouldn’t we have heard about it by now? Even a leak? It may just remain a great book – and that’s it.

Leave a Reply

