Kellene’s 2012 Oscar Winner Predictions

Oh my God, I totally forgot to post this – what is wrong with me? I’ve actually been busy with other things – work and life – no it’s true.

But I can’t forget this-

I think this year I will try something different and just say who I think will win.

Best Picture: The Artist

Best Actor: Jean Dujardin, The Artist (Sat, Feb 25 – now I’m starting to think that Brad Pitt may win. I can see him smiling holding an Oscar up backstage where the press conferences take place. I don’t know….but in fairness, Dujardin had to rely on physicalness, not words. And if you remember, Anna Pacquin won for The Piano so it is possible.)

Best Actress: Viola Davis, The Help

Best Supporting Actor: Christopher Plummer, Beginners

Best Supporting Actress: Octavia Spencer, The Help

Best Director: Michel Hazanavicius, The Artist

Best Original Screenplay: Midnight in Paris

Best Adapted Screenplay: The Descendants

Best Sound Mixing: War Horse

Best Costume Design: The Artist

Best Original Song: ‘Man or Muppet’ from The Muppets

Best Cinematography: The Artist

Best Film Editing: Hugo

Best Visual Effects: Transformers: Dark of the Moon

Best Short Film (animated): La Luna

Best Short Film (live action): Raju

Best Documentary (short): The Tsunami and the Cherry Blossom

Best Original Score: The Artist

Best Animated Feature Film: Rango

Best Foreign Film: A Separation

Best Documentary: Undefeated

Best Art Direction: Hugo

Best Sound Editing: Transformers: Dark of the Moon

Best Makeup: Albert Nobbs

I think ‘The Artist’ will win more artistic categories while ‘Hugo’ will win more technical awards. I don’t know – this year seems more scattered than most. There isn’t a clear cut winner across the board. Even though Hugo got the most nominations, I just don’t think it will win that much. I think the Artist will sweep more categories.

I think the only categories that are a sure lock are the major ones:  actors and director. Picture is not – it could go to either Hugo or ‘The Artist.’

So if you are relying on me this year for your Oscar pool – even I’m hesitant this year.

We’ll see what happens Sunday!

Leave a Reply

