Defining ‘Classic’ Films

While waiting for a video to download at work, I looked up to ‘The Talk’ airing on CBS. The closed captioning read ‘…Jason Biggs starred in the classic film American Pie….’

I was stunned.

It’s not a classic!

After my initial pissyness I then started thinking about what defines ‘classic film.’ When I hear those words I think of Gone With the Wind, The Wizard of Oz, Casablanca…but obviously someone thought otherwise.

Maybe the person who wrote that for the teleprompter is really young – meaning they actually think it is a classic film. You know, like how 1987 is ancient history. To them ‘classic’ means something else entirely. Which also means they’re changing the definition of the word – and maybe for the worse.

Only time will tell, but I don’t think American Pie will ever be placed in the same sentence as those movies. As it shouldn’t.

What do you think? Am I wrong in my assumption?

Leave a Reply

