Kellene’s Super Bowl XLVII Connection (Sort of)…..

colinkel

In case you have been living under a rock the two past weeks, you know that that Super Bowl is being played Sunday. In New Orleans. In the Superdome. Baltimore Ravens vs the San Francisco 49ers. Starting at 3:30pm (PST).
You may have also heard that SF 49er quarterback Colin Kaepernick went to the University of Nevada – in Reno. He graduated about a decade after I received my second bachelor’s degree so I’ll admit I’ve never met the guy. But I have heard he’s really tall.
No, my only connection to him is me posting text stories and sports videos on him to my work’s website.
As proof, I posted some text stories I wrote that involve him.
They start in 2008 – and go until 2011.
More importantly I came to know him by constantly checking the spelling on his last name! I could never seem to get it right! Drove me nuts…
Then a few months ago, he became the unofficial ‘it’ NFL guy. Although I was very happy for him, I knew that I would have to write his last name again in stories. Funny thing is I now know how to spell it; tells you how many times I’ve at least seen it in newspapers, magazines, online and on TV, and on prop bets.
Did I mention he’s also the ‘it’ guy for prop bets? This week he surpassed Tom Brady and Peyton Manning for most prop bets placed.
Two weeks ago, issues of Sports Illustrated with him on the cover sold out across the area.

kapsi

I tried in vain to find an issue for my father. I went to ten different places. Barnes & Noble had to tape a sign to its front door stating it was sold out – and not getting anymore issues.
A Wolf Pack (yes, two words) store sold out within about 15 minutes of getting issues. The store bought issues in Sacramento and brought them back to resell here.
The support this kid is getting is amazing. And good for him – he deserves it.
But then to play for a somewhat local NFL team?! Whoa! I can’t even begin to tell you how many 49ers fans live here.
A Wolf Pack (yes, two words) store sold out within about 15 minutes of getting issues. The store bought issues in Sacramento and brought them back here to resell.
The support this kid is getting is amazing. And good for him – he deserves it.
But then to play for a somewhat local NFL team?! Whoa! I can’t even begin to tell you how many 49ers fans live here.
Friday the San Francisco Chronicle ran a full-page ad enticing people to come here to study. I was wondering how long it would take for the school to use Kaepernick as a tool to recruit other players, students.

kapunrchron<

It’s still somewhat hard to believe I went to the same school as a quarterback playing in the Super Bowl. That doesn’t happen every day.
But if in the end it betters my alma mater, then by God, that’s awesome.
If I had a dime for every time I heard ‘pistol offense’ over the past few years….well, you wouldn’t be hearing from me — I’d be living on my own island in paradise right now! The funny thing is – now everyone else gets to hear about it. It’s the new ‘it’ thing in professional football. So get ready to hear a lot more about it. And where did it come from? The hotbed of NCAA football of course – the University of Nevada.
Coach Chris Ault, who recently just announced his retirement, is in New Orleans right now. He’ll be intereviewed later today on the NFL Network.
I wouldn’t be surprised if he’s offered a job somewhere within the organization. It’s only a matter of time.

49er

I was fortunate enough to watch a 49er game live last October in San Francisco. Who knew at the time that I would be watching the NFC champions?! I wanted to see my Buffalo Bills play (yes, I know…), and this was the best opportunity without flying to Buffalo. My boyfriend is a huge 49ers fan. And has been since he was born so it was a perfect game for the both of us to watch.
Growing up my parents loved the 49ers … until Joe Montana got traded and then it was over.
Thanks to Kaepernick (see I can spell it now!), my father again has a NFL team to root for! What a great thing for him to experience. For that I am grateful to our former quarterback.

Leave a Reply

