Does History Repeat Itself?

Ben Affleck with Oscar for Argo at Vanity Fair Oscar Party 2013

Ben Affleck’s win for Best Picture this past Sunday got me thinking about the last time he won, with Matt Damon, for Best Original Screenplay in 1998 for ‘Good Will Hunting.’ Their acceptance speech was exciting to watch since they spoke over each words, but most of all they really showed how surprised, humbled and happy they were for their win. It wasn’t rehearsed, but it did nicely fit within their allotted 45 seconds.
I mention this because it got me thinking about what I was doing 15 years ago. Which when I was younger, seemed so far away – 15 years – but now, not so much.
Let’s see – first off – I was still in college. I had one more semester to go to get my journalism degree – and then of course, I decided to stay another year-and-a-half and get another bachelor’s degree in theatre.
I had just turned 22 a few months earlier and could enjoy alcoholic drinks to my heart’s content – legally.
It was also about six months since Princess Diana died in Paris.
I started to do some research and see what other memorable events happened 15 years ago:
• All California bars, clubs and card rooms became smoke-free.
• The U.S. population grows to 268 million+.
• Then President Clinton says, “I want to say one thing to the American people I did not have sexual relations with that woman, Miss Lewinsky.” Impeachment hearings start.
• A federal judge gives “Unabomber” Ted Kacynski four life sentences and Oklahoma City bomber Terry Nichols is sentenced to life in prison.
• The last episode of Seinfeld airs.
• And – Google is founded by Stanford students Larry Page and Sergey Brin.
Now, 15 years later we have Capitol Hill hearings on Libya and a shooter who killed 20 children at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Connecticut.
Apple becomes the world’s biggest company while Google stock hits $800, Facebook has over 1 billion users and the last episode of 30 Rock airs.
Almost like 1998 huh?

Leave a Reply

