Sparks Middle School Shooting Hits Close to Home

It’s hard to believe that more than 20 years I attended middle school. In Sparks, Nevada. At Sparks Middle School.

Yeah, we all had our differences, but nothing like what happened early Monday morning. A 12-year-old boy shot and killed a popular math teacher, and injured two other fellow students.

I can’t tell you how sad and unthinkable it is that my former middle school is now on the national list of deadly school shootings. We should never be on that list. Period.

It’s bizarre seeing my former school grounds on national and international websites and on television networks like CBS, ABC and NBC. I stumbled across this today on the latimes.com. I never thought I’d ever see my school next to the White House – in any context.

sparkslatimes

San Francisco, Las Vegas, Sacramento, NBC, ABC, CNN and CBS News are all here covering this story. Just sad it had it be this kind of story they’re gathered here for.

It’s amazing to me to think that another teacher gave their life to save dozens, maybe even hundreds of children. It’s awesome that these people still exist in this world – and they should be commended for their heroism.

sparksshootpaper

Leave a Reply

